Wishlist 1.0

My personal wishlist mainly consists of materials I can use with the children in my movement and language classes. If I splurge on something it is usually something for the kiddos. Living in Switzerland has helped me to be mindful of the materials I purchase. Items are more difficult to get here, cost a bit more, and then I have to reflect on how I will get all of these materials back to the States. In the meantime, I will keep dreaming and have a list ready for when the time comes.

Every single item Tree Hopper Toys has in stock is on my wish list. LS001-woods_large.jpg

The Landscape Blocks are playfully quaint and might need be added to our home when a little one comes along.

What I really have my eye on are all of the Match Stacks.

MA008-spill_large.jpgMA004-grid_large.jpgMA020-grid_large.jpgMA001-pile_large.jpg

I use a lot of cards and visual cues in all of my classes. These are the perfect size for little hands and would prove more sturdy than the budget-friendly printouts I currently use. I have so many ideas for how these could come in handy. See the start of my list is below.

  1. A music meditation. Play a sound clip for the children to focus on and then provide two or three of the musical instrument discs for them to identify which instrument they were listening to. Then a dance party should probably commence.
  2.  My movement classes usually have a theme. Next month we’ll be talking about modes of transportation it would be great to have a grab bag for the kids to pull one of the discs out to lead us to our next pose. We could line the discs up to create a sequence, use them for silent Simon Says, and discuss if the vehicle travels on the land or in the air or water.
  3. These would be perfect to help divide the classes into pairs for partner poses. Or color-coded groups.
  4. Depending on the size I could use these in my baby sign language classes as a visual to introduce new signs for babies and caregivers.
  5. I could see these in my language lessons too, to identify new vocabulary words or instigate story telling.
  6. And who doesn’t love a good game of Memory!

Leave a comment